Long Service Police Award 3rd Class - 8 Years Expand

Long Service Police Award 3rd Class - 8 Years



The Long Service Police Award (1938) was created to award all the police officers after an appropriate completion of the service for 8, 18 or 25 years. It was donated by decree dated 30 January 1938 by Adolf Hitler.

More details

WARNING: Medals are sold without ribbon. Ribbons and accessories are sold separately. You can find them under the description of the product, in "Accessories".

10,50 €

tax incl.

  • Satisfied or refunded: we guarantee 100% secure protection on your purchases
  • Free return: return your order free of charge within 30 days from receipt
  • Secure payments: pay securely online with PayPal or credit cards
Secure payments

More info

On 30 January 1938, Adolf Hitler ordered the institution of an award for members of the police force who met qualifications based on length of service. The award was given in three grades to men who had served for eight, eighteen, and twenty-five years. The design of all three medals had the police insignia, which consisted of a national eagle emblem surrounded by a wreath, on the obverse side. All three awards were emblazoned with the inscription Für treue Dienste in der Polizei ("For faithful service in the Police") on the reverse. On 12 August 1944, a higher grade was authorized for 40 years of service. It was to be in the form of a gold metal bar with the number 40 with oak leaves, to be affixed onto the ribbon of twenty-five years award. There is no record of it being awarded prior to the end of World War II in Europe.

To qualify for the medal, a person had to be an active member of the police or "an administrator" in the police service. Military service time could also be applied to the total time of service needed for the award.

The Nazi Party and Schutzstaffel (SS) had a similar service award. The NSDAP Long Service Award was given in grades of ten, fifteen, and twenty-five years. The SS Long Service Award was given in grades of four, eight, twelve, twenty-five, and forty years (never awarded). The award of the German armed forces, known as the Wehrmacht Long Service Award, was issued for four years (fourth class), twelve years (third class), 18 years (second class), 25 years (first class), and 40 years (1939 special class).

Medals With Ribbon


War Militaria uses cookies to make your shopping experience more enjoyable. By continuing to use our services you agree to use cookies.